Award Recipients

A Legacy of Greatness
The founders of the Florida Justice Association set out on a path over fifty years ago to establish a statewide organization to advance the civil justice system. Their vision and dedication to Florida’s civil justice system are honored each year by recognizing a select group of individuals who embody the principles and qualities they exhibited in their lifetimes. Their stories inspire FJA members to build upon their own commitment to justice.  

The namesakes of our distinguished awards continue to remind us of the merits of our profession and the achievements we are each capable of reaching. Our success has been built upon the principles these men lived by and we will continue to honor their strength and commitment by recognizing those individuals who exemplify their outstanding characters.

Florida Justice Association 2015 Founders' Award Winners
FJA is proud to recognize the men and women of distinction who lead this organization and inspire us all through their dedication to preserving justice. Enjoy these short videos that capture the accomplishments and passion of the 2015 Founders' Awards Winners:

Al J Cone Lifetime Achievement Award
Awarded to: Neal Roth, Coral Gables

Jon E. Krupnick Award
Awarded to: John Romano, Lake Worth

Champion of Consumer Safety Award
Awarded to: Leslie Kroeger, Palm Beach Gardens

Perry Nichols Award
The Perry Nichols Award was created in 1977 in honor of the visionary who first brought Florida’s leading trial attorneys together to create the Negligence and Compensation Lawyers of Florida, the predecessor to today’s Florida Justice Association. It is the most prestigious award given by our organization and is given to the attorney whose perseverance, commitment, and unmatched dedication to the civil justice system is at the forefront of their lives. The award is bestowed upon the attorney who sets the standard for the rest of us to aspire to achieve.

Perry Nicols Award Recipients

Al J. Cone Lifetime Achievement Award
The first president and founding member of the Academy of Florida Trial Lawyers, as it was known back then, and founder of FLAG, now the Florida Justice PAC, was Al J. Cone. He had the vision to see a need for a statewide association of trial attorneys and dedicated his life to the civil justice system of our state. Al’s lifetime of service to the FJA and to the consumers of Florida spanned nearly five decades. This award was created in his honor to pay tribute to an attorney who has pledged their life to upholding consumer rights and fighting for justice. The award reads: “A career of leadership; A career of example setting; A career of devotion; A career of courage.” The winner of this award must be a leader, dedicated and poised not only for personal achievement as an attorney, but also success as an individual.

Al J. Cone Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

B.J. Masterson Award
B.J. Masterson served the legal community with the highest degree of ethical professionalism. B.J. established a reputation for holding himself and his practice accountable to the highest ethical standards. The Florida Justice Association established the B.J. Masterson Award for Professionalism in his honor in 1996 to pay tribute to his values and esteemed character.

B.J. Masterson Award Recipients

Jon E. Krupnick Award
The Jon E. Krupnick Award was named in honor of the perseverance and fortitude of its namesake, Jon E. Krupnick. Jon spent 15 years representing a four-year-old girl in an extremely lengthy case. This award was established in 2000 to honor his determination in pursuing justice, no matter how difficult a task it may be or how long it may take. The recipient of this award must show the same steadfast commitment to achieving justice for the weak, the vulnerable, and the injured and the patience to wait on the results.

Jon E. Krupnick Award Recipients

S. Victor Tipton Award
The FJA created the S. Victor Tipton Award in 1989 to honor those individuals whose superior achievement in legal writing and commitment to the profession honors the role that Victor Tipton played within our organization.

S. Victor Tipton Award Recipients

Judicial Achievement Award
The Florida Justice Association recognizes the “dedication to the preservation of individual rights and free access to the courts” with our Judicial Achievement Award.

Judicial Achievement Award Recipients