FJA Legislative Committees

The Florida Justice Association’s legislative committees are very active. FJA proposes proactive legislation that benefit our members and their clients, and attempt to amend or defeat unfavorable legislation.

To accomplish this, we have several legislative committees whose mission it is to help set FJA’s proactive legislative agenda, draft any proactive legislation that the FJA would like to pursue, assist in drafting position papers on issues and to act as an advisory group during the session on issues within the expertise of its members. Committees are created whenever a specific need arises, or, as with medical malpractice and insurance, need continual oversight.

Active legislative committees for the 2015-2016 year are:

  • Legislative Committee (oversees all committees)
      Chair: Todd Copeland, Orlando
      Vice-Chair: Jimmy Gustafson, Tallahassee
  • Auto Insurance Committee
      Co-Chairs Glenn Klausman, Orlando, and Jason Lamoureux, Brandon
    Vice-Chair: Waylon Thompson, Panama City
  •  Bad Faith Committee
    Fred Cunningham, Palm Beach Gardens, & Dale Swope, Tampa
  • Consumer Law Committee
      Chair: Bill Cotterell, Tallahassee
  • Limitations in Medical Payments (LIMP) Committee 
      Chair: Jim Magazine, New Port Richey
      Vice-Chair: Damian Mallard, Sarasota
  • Medical Malpractice Committee
      Chair: Scott McMillen, Orlando
      Vice-Chair: Phil Gold, Coral Gables
  • Nursing Home Committee
      Chair: Steve Watrel, Jacksonville
  • Property Insurance Committee
      Co-Chairs: Dale Dobuler, Miami, and Nicole Vinson, Tampa
      Vice-Chair: Lee Jacobson, Orlando
  • Tobacco Litigation Committee
      Chair: Jimmy Gustafson, Tallahassee

      Vice-Chair: Brent Bigger, Tampa
  • Rental Car Committee
      Co-Chairs: David Dismuke, Lakeland, and Kim Driggers, Tallahassee
    Vice-Chair: Larry Perry, Panama City
  • Workers' Compensation Committee
      Chair: Richard Chait, Miami

      Vice-Chair: Kim Syfrett, Panama City

If you are interested in joining any of these committees, please contact the Chairperson of the committee or Lynn McCartney in the FJA Legislative Department. We need your help and welcome your participation.