< Return to FJA Section Page

FJA Young Lawyers Section Board of Directors

Are you interested in fighting harder for your client’s rights, growing your skills, becoming more politically involved, and having fun while doing it? Then you want to serve on the FJA Young Lawyer Board of Directors!

FJA Young Lawyers Board of Director Elections are at FJA’s Annual Convention at The Breakers on Thursday June 23, 2016 at 4pm.

How to Run
The Board elections take place at the FJA Annual Convention. To run in the election, applicants are to submit their name, a short bio and a photo. Applications for 2016 are closed and will be accepted on a rollign basis prior to the 2017 Convention in June. 

Members of the Board must select 3 responsibilities in addition to the 2 mandatory requirements

  • Participate in Mock Trial Competition (staff, recruit volunteers, fundraise)*
  • 2 members/participate with the Membership Committee*
  • Attend at least 1 major FJA seminar: Annual Convention, Workhorse, Masters of Justice, Hell on the Highways
  • Attend/Staff Al J. Cone Trial Institute
  • Attend a Law School Outreach (LSO) event
  • Attend Lobby Days
  • Attend Leadership Retreat
  • Attend Young Lawyers Section Retreat (concurrent with Al J. Cone in August 2016)
  • Be an EAGLE (Soaring counts)
  • Facilitate an End Distracted Driving (EndDD) event at a local school/white hat/community event
  • Contribute to the PAC and or raise funds for the PAC
  • Participate in grassroots efforts (i.e., walk for candidates, staff polling sites, etc.)
  • Sponsor Lobby Team Lunch

* Mandatory Item

Young Lawyer Section Board of Directors

2015-2016 Officers

  • Chair: Vanessa Brice, Colling, Gilbert, Wright & Carter, Orlando
  • Chair-Elect: Jonathan Gilbert, Colling, Gilbert, Wright & Carter, Orlando
  • Secretary: Heather Freeman, Timothy G. Anderson, P.A., Tampa
  • Immediate Past Chair: Jason Whittemore, Wagner McLaughlin, P.A., Tampa


  • Heather Barnes, The Yerrid Law Firm, P.A., Tampa
  • Matthew Crist, Clark & Martino, P.A., Tampa 
  • Nicholas Johnson, Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll PLLC, Palm Beach Gardens
  • Michael Kalil, Law Offices of John S. Kalil, P.A., Jacksonville
  • Christopher Keller, Lytal, Reiter, Smith, Ivey & Fronrath, LLP, West Palm Beach
  • Fay Pappas, Bailey Fisher, PLLC, Winter Park


  • Michael Cerasa, Pearson Bitman, LLP, Maitland
  • Dale Dobuler, Ver Ploeg & Lumpkin, Miami
  • Dustin Herman, Romano Law Group, Lake Worth
  • Erik Nowak, De La Parte & Gilbert, P.A., Tampa

2015-2016 At-Large Directors:

  • Todd Baker, Steinger, Iscoe, & Greene, P.A., Fort Lauderdale
  • Sam Cohen, Cunningham Whalen & Gaspari, Palm Beach Gardens
  • Vanessa Cotto, Hogan Frick, Orlando
  • Jarrett DeLuca, Vinas & DeLuca, PLLC, Miami
  • Chris Lancaster, The Mallard Law Firm, Sarasota
  • David Milton, Coker, Schickel, Sorenson, Posgay, Camerlengo & Iracki, P.A., Jacksonville
  • Alina Morros, Fiol Law Group, P.A., Tampa
  • Elizabeth Munro, Vanguard Attorneys, Tampa
  • Zachary Smith, Pawlowski & Mastrilli Law Group, P.A., Tampa